Shit I’m Gonna Do Better This Year

Shit I'm Gonna Do Better This Year

It’s that arbitrary time again where we make half-assed declarations of intended self-improvement. Yeah! I usually jump on the bandwagon, making lists of things I want to learn about and get done… and then usually don’t follow through.

So this year, I’m gonna skip the formalities of making an actual list, and just strive in general to be better about getting shit done, taking care of myself, and learning new things. Because there’s plenty of goals I want to reach that I set before the new year, and plenty more I will set in months to come. So all that really matters is that we try to be better.

The picture isn’t really related. I was searching through my images trying to find something good to post, and there’s very little I feel is worthy to put on my blog. I have several pieces I’m holding on to, stories I want to build up to. I can’t give away all the good stuff so soon, can I? That’s the one major Life Resolution I’ve been working on lately: make more art.

This picture is from an assignment from Art History: Stone Age to Renaissance, where our teacher Onur asked us to split into groups to design a “hero monument”. I ended up pairing with my friend who was a marketing major, and I think the only reason we chose Willow was because the group next to us told us we couldn’t do Will Smith because they were doing that. It ended up being a good choice, because it was fun, and the song “Whip My Hair” is all about doing your own thing and being creative (and brushing off the haters).

My friend and I spent an evening smoking, watching music videos, and drawing and writing (and playing with his two really fat cats). I think that’s when I realized marketing people think differently than I do. He focused on the words that “sounded good”, I wanted to be genuine. Eh, little differences. He was totally in love with the seven little diamond accents on the statue. I loved the corinthian pillar she was standing on.

You can be your own worst hater, so if you’re struggling with keeping up your resolutions just remember Willow’s writer’s wise words:

Don’t let haters keep me off my grind

Keep my head up and I know I’ll be fine

Keep fighting until I get there

Am down and I feel like giving up

I whip my hair back and forth

Happy New Year!

One thought on “Shit I’m Gonna Do Better This Year

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

